We are living in an extraordinary time. Survivors of sexual violence are coming forward and some are finally being heard and believed.

And while a few powerful abusers are paying the price for their unlawful conduct, workplaces overall have been slow to respond to the structural, institutional, and cultural norms that underlie #metoo in the workplace.

But what if we could stop sexual assault and harassment in the workplace before it happens?

We can. Together.

This guide highlights the powerful strategies engaged in by activists and survivors—some of them profiled here—and the steps YOU can take, both in and out of your workplace to end sexual harassment in the world of work.

Who created this guide?

Futures Without Violence, with support from the NoVo Foundation, W.K. Kellogg Foundation and Blue Shield of California Foundation, worked with advocates, workers, and survivors to lift up the stories, insights, and successes of workers who have been fighting for some time to end workplace sexual harassment and assault.

Who is this guide for?

YOU. So you can take meaningful steps to end sexual harassment and assault in the workplace.

What’s next?

This interactive guide will be regularly updated with new information and stories from the front lines. If you have a story to share, please send an email to Activist@futureswithoutviolence.org.

Special thanks to:

The Coalition of Immokalee Workers, National Domestic Workers Alliance, Alianza Nacional de Campesinas, Justice for Migrant Women, Rhiza Collective, Restaurant Opportunities Centers United, the Ya Basta! Coalition, Maintenance Cooperation Trust Fund, One Fair Wage, and many other partner organizations, survivors, and advocates committed to ending gender-based violence and promoting workers’ rights. And with special and deep gratitude to UltraViolet, for their thought-partnership and guidance in outreach for this guide and its strategies.

The thoughtful and supportive teams at the Blue Shield of California Foundation, W.K. Kellogg Foundation and the NoVo Foundation who share our passion for transformational change.

And to Zöe West, Phoebe Strom, Miriam Kasell, Theresa Kim, Kathy Azada, and Brendan Wolfe for the contributions of their time, energy, and talents.